User Rating:  / 0

Flash Back May 1997

25 Years of Mizoram Legislative Assembly

Mizoram is all geared up to celebrate 25 years of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly slated for 10th May 1997. Mr. Vaivenga, the Speaker of the Assembly said that preparations for the celebration was nearing completion.

A DIPR Aizawl press release added that the first Mizoram Legislative Assembly was held on the 10th of May 1972 when the state was declared a Union Territory.

Mr. Vaivenga said that since 1972 Mizoram has been upholding democracy and free and fair elections were successfully conducted. The smooth functioning of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly has been maintaining all disciplinary norms, which Mr. Vaivanga added calls for a commemorative celebration.

During the first day of celebration, a function will be held at the Vanapa Hall wherein Dr. (Mrs) najma Heptulla, Dy Chairperson, Rajya Sabha is expected to be the Chief Guest. A minute silence shall be observed as a mark of respect to 20 members of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly and 2 members of parliament who have expired and a memento will be released by the Chief Guest.