User Rating:  / 0

Charlotte Aitchison

Charlotte Aitchison (born 2 August 1992), better known by her stage name Charli XCX, is a Hertfordshire singer-songwriter. She released two singles in 2008, “Emelline “ and “!Franchesckaar!”. She was signed to This Is Music and IAMSOUND Records, before releasing three more singles, “Stay Away”, “Nuclear Seasons”, and “You’re the One”. She released two EPs in late 2011 while she completed her debut album , True Romance. At the age of 14, Charli began recording her debut album. Two singles, double A-side “Emelline “ and “!Franchesckaar!”, were released in late 2008 under Charli’s own label, Orgy Music. The album itself, featuring the latter single, was never commercially released, although several promotional copies were issued. In 2011, she featured on two singles, “End of the World” by Alex Metric, and “Lost in Space” by Starkey.  Her singles, “Stay Away”, “Nuclear Seasons”, and “You’re the One”,  gained attention from Pitchfork Media, where she gained Best New Track accolades for both tracks, with the former being ranked #35 on their Best Tracks of 2011 list. In late 2011, a five-track promotional sampler of Charli’s debut album surfaced. All tracks were early demos, including an early version of “You’re the One”, titled “In the Dark”.